FAMILY VIOLENCE ATTORNEYS IN DALLAS, TEXAS
DALLAS FAMILY & DOMESTIC VIOLENCE LAWYERS
Family or domestic violence constitute a violent act towards a family member, spouse, partner, boyfriend, girlfriend, roommate, or any other individual living or have lived under the same roof. Being convicted for assault of family violence in Texas has some harsh and serious consequences. For example, your rights to have firearm may be taken away, and later on, if you are found to be in possession of a firearm, the offense can be considered a federal crime. Moreover, if you are convicted of another family violence charge (2nd family violence charge), then it will be a felony rather than a misdemeanor. The complications involved with a family violence charge in Texas, makes it extremely important to hire an experienced attorney to represent you.
THINGS TO REMEMBER WHEN ARRESTED FOR FAMILY VIOLENCE
If you have been arrested for family or domestic violence charges in Texas, you need to make sure about these:
- Make no statements regardless of what is told or represented by anyone
- Secure legal representation immediately
- Try to document injuries sustained by either party and if possible, take pictures of the injuries
- Get some counseling
- Obtain medical records and gather information to see the big picture
When arrested for family violence in Dallas Fort-Worth area, it is advised to hire an experienced family violence lawyer of Dallas to attain a dedicated representation and determine the right course of action for your future.
FORMS OF DOMESTIC & FAMILY VIOLENCE IN TEXAS
Every year there are thousands of cases reported across Texas for domestic and family violence. Some of the common forms of domestic and family violence include:
- Domestic Abuse
- Spousal Abuse
- Child Abuse
- Elder Abuse
- Sexual Assault
State of Texas takes domestic and family violence offenses very seriously, and they are strongly prosecuted by all counties of the state. When arrested for a family violence charge, make sure you attain the representation of a skilled criminal defense attorney to explain your options and a knowledgeable representation of your charge.
TEXAS FAMILY VIOLENCE LAWS
A family or domestic violence charge is considered as an assault in Texas. There might be a different charge written on magistrate’s warning or bail bond, but the offense is always considered as an assault. According to Texas laws, an assault offense can range from a Class C misdemeanor to a felony. The charge is a Class C misdemeanor if the physical contact is merely regarded as “offensive” or “provocative.” With that kind of charge, you will receive a citation with a promise to appear in a Municipal Court, where your maximum fine will be up to $500. But, most family or domestic violence cases are charged as Class A misdemeanors for which you can be charged with causing the bodily injury to the victim. In cases where family violence assault causes a serious bodily injury, the offender can be charged with a Felony. Also, if a person is charged previously with a family violence assault, another offense will result in a felony charge.
PENALTIES FOR DOMESTIC & FAMILY VIOLENCE IN TEXAS
State of Texas takes family and domestic violence charges very seriously. A family or domestic violence conviction can result in receiving the following sentencing from the court:
- First Conviction – When charged with your first conviction for a family or domestic violence, you may be sentenced for up to 1 year in a county jail, and depending on the circumstances, may face a $4,000 fine. You may also be required by the court to complete counseling, and at the end of your jail term you might get a probation.
- Second Conviction – A second conviction of family violence will put a Third-Degree Felony charge on you, and you may be sentenced to minimum of 2-10 years in a Texas penitentiary, with large amount of fines and orders to complete counseling. After your release form the prison, you will be on placed on a parole.
- Aggravated Assault – If you are charged with an aggravated assault against the family member, it will be a second-degree felony, which is punishable by 2 to 20 years in a Texas state prison.
- Aggravated Assault with a Weapon – If there was a weapon used in your aggravated assault that caused a serious injury, then you will be charged with a first-degree felony. A first degree felony in Texas is punishable up to life in prison.
- Additional Penalties – Often, a judge can add the probation or community supervision as an added penalties of family and domestic violence cases in Texas. The judge can also require you to pay $100, in addition to other court costs, probation costs and fines, to a domestic violence shelter. Often, a judge may also require an individual charged with family violence to seek counseling within the 60 days of his probation period. The judge may also require you to pay for any counseling that is provided to the victim of the domestic and family abuse.
- Inability to Possess a Firearm – If you are convicted with a domestic or family violence charge in Texas, you will not be able to possess a firearm for a period of up to 5 years after the end of your sentence or probation. This can sometimes happen even when you are charged with a misdemeanor. It is also possible that you may only be allowed to have a gun at home after the end of that period.
- Protective Orders – After being convicted with a domestic or family violence, a judge might issue a protective order prohibiting you from going near where the victim lives, works, or go to school. Along with that a judge can also require you to complete a battering intervention and prevention program run by the state.
- Fees for the Victim’s Attorney – When convicted with domestic and family violence, you may also be required to pay the fee for victim’s attorney.
The complications and penalties involved with the domestic and family violence in Texas, makes it extremely important to hire an experienced family violence attorney to effectively represent you in court, and protect your rights. An attorney with the knowledge of Texas Penal Code can help you effectively defend your case with an aggressive and dedicated legal representation.
VIOLATION OF PROTECTIVE ORDERS
Often, prosecutors in Texas request courts to put a protective orders in place when an individual is charged with family or domestic violence. If you violate a protective order, it is considered as a serious offense, and can result in your arrest and further criminal penalties. When a protected order is issued against you, you are not supposed to commit an act of family or domestic violence, not threaten the protected party, not go near the house where the person lives (even if that was your common resident in the past), not go near the protected person’s place of work or education, and not possess a firearm. Once a protective order is in place, it can only be removed by a court.
If you have recently been charged or convicted of family or domestic violence, and a protective order has been issued against you, you should abide by the rules laid out by State of Texas regarding those orders. If you have violated your protective orders, you need to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney to start representing you aggressively in the court. A violation of protective orders is a serious criminal offense and need the assistance of an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense professional to handle it effectively.
ATTORNEYS AVAILABLE FOR FREE CONSULTATION
The team of experienced and dedicated attorneys at our firm is here to help you with your criminal defense matter involving family and domestic violence charges. If you are arrested for family or domestic violence in Texas, let’s not assume that jail is your next stop. You need the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer to explain your situations according to the laws laid by State of Texas and determine the right course of action to make your life and future secure. Our attorneys offer a FREE CONSULTATION to discuss your case in detail. Let our experience and dedication work for your family and domestic violence case. Our team of criminal defense lawyers have helped thousands of clients over the years, and our experience and knowledge of Texas family and domestic violence laws worked for getting favorable outcomes for our clients. Our criminal defense lawyers have helped out clients getting their charges dropped, reduce their charges, get reduced jail times and fines, or suspending their protective orders.
Our attorneys and legal staff are available to consult with your regarding your family violence and other criminal defense matters. You can schedule a FREE CONSULTATION by calling 972.789.1664, emailing email@example.com, or filling out the form on this page. We also offer convenient installment plans and accept all major credit cards.